Accessibility links

Information Technology BTEC Level 3 National Certificate and Extended Diploma at Howard of Effingham School

Course description

The BTEC Level 3 (Certificate/Extended Certificate) in Information Technology requires applied learning that brings together knowledge and understanding together with practical and technical skills. Students will study specific units related to Information Technology in the real world.

Course content


For the Certificate (AS equivalent) you study two mandatory units of which one is externally assessed.  

Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information - externally assessed

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business – portfolio assessed

Extended Certificate

For the Extended Certificate (A2 equivalent – 360 Guided Learning Hours) you study two further units in addition to those for the Certificate.

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems – externally assessed

An optional unit from a choice of: Data Modelling or Website Development.


In BTEC Level 3 Certificate 50% of the course is assessed by an external test and 50% by portfolio evidence.

Future opportunities

The qualification carries the same UCAS points as an A level and could lead to a degree programme from a range of programmes in the business sector. Progression can be direct to an honours degree or to a Higher National, a Foundation Degree, or a Higher Apprenticeship.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Howard of Effingham School directly.

Last updated date: 06 September 2016
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years


  • More information
    • Howard of Effingham School is the lead school for The Howard Partnership, a Surrey based Academy chain, originally formed from a federation of schools in 2007 and more recently converting to a Multi Academy Trust.