Accessibility links

Information Technology BTEC Level 3 at Dyson Perrins CofE Academy

Course description

BTEC Subsidiary Diploma Level 3 - BTEC Nationals are QCF Level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist work-related qualifications in a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment. They attract UCAS points that equate to similar-sized general qualifications within education institutions within the UK. It is broadly equivalent to one GCE A Level.

AS Level
Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT(m)
The aim of this unit is to ensure that learners understand both the personal attributes valued by employers and the principles of communicating effectively whilst developing effective communication skills and addressing their own personal development needs.
Unit 2: Computer Systems (m)
The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the components of computer systems and develop the skills needed to recommend appropriate systems for business purposes and set up and maintain computer systems.
Unit 3: Digital Graphics (o)
The unit aims to enable learners to understand different types of digital graphic images and file formats and to be able to create, edit, modify and manipulate digital images of various types and complexity.

A2 Level
Students study 3 optional units which could include:
* Game Design
* Project Planning with IT
* Website production

Entry requirements

We recommend students opting to take ICT at Level 3 need to have a minimum B grade at GCSE level. (OCR Nationals/DIDA) - If students have a combination of ICT grades we will look at individual cases where necessary.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Dyson Perrins CofE Academy directly.

Last updated date: 23 May 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1-2 Years