Accessibility links

AQA Baccalaureate at St Peter's Catholic School and Specialist Science College

Course description

The AQA Bacc comprises:

•3 A-levels subjects (students' main subject choices)
•independent learning through the Extended Project Qualification
•skills development through Enrichment activities: work related learning, community participation and personal development
•breadth through an AS level in General Studies, Critical Thinking, Citizenship, Science in Society or World Development (WJEC only).
Students can complete the AQA Bacc based on A-levels awarded by any awarding body to achieve a grade of Pass, Merit or Distinction.

The overall AQA Bacc grade indicates consistency of performance in A-levels and the EPQ, achievement in a broadening subject and the development of valuable skills, aptitudes and personal qualities via work experience, volunteering and personal development activities.

Course content

The AQA Bacc is a rigorous academic qualification available to any student studying at least three A-levels. It adds value to core A-level subjects through broader study, the Extended Project Qualification and enrichment activities.

You are free to study your chosen A-level subjects, while creating your own sixth-form programme. The AQA Bacc provides you with:

•a solid academic foundation with the skills that universities have identified as important.
•independent learning, community spirit, leadership and work-related skills.
•a record of your extra curricular achievements to include in UCAS personal statements and discuss at interview.

Entry requirements


You must study a minimum of 3 A level subjects.


Students meet the criteria by achieving:

•at least grade E in each of their A-levels.
•a pass (E or above) in a broader study AS-level subject such a General Studies.
•the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).
•a minimum of 100 hours of enrichment activities.
The AQA Bacc is awarded with a Pass, Merit or Distinction; the level is determined by the student's A-level and EPQ grades.

Future opportunities

Universities will continue to make their offers based on the various elements of the AQA Bacc.

Successful students will receive an AQA Bacc certificate as well as their A-level, AS-level and EPQ certificates.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact St Peter's Catholic School and Specialist Science College directly.

Last updated date: 09 January 2015
Provider logo

Key information

Contact details