Accessibility links

BTEC Certificate in IT at The Windsor Boys' School

Course description

Core Units

Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT: The aim of this unit is to ensure that learners understand both the personal attributes valued by employers and the principles of communicating effectively whilst developing effective communication skills and addressing your own personal development needs.

Unit 2: Computer Systems: The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the components of computer systems and develop the skills needed to recommend appropriate systems for business purposes and set up and maintain computer systems.

Unit 3: Information Systems: The aim of this unit is to ensure learners understand how organisations use information and the surrounding use of information, know about information systems and develop the skills necessary to produce management information.

Optional Units include:

Unit 4: Impact of the use of IT on Business Systems:

Unit 14: Systems Analysis and Design:

Unit 18: Database Design:

Unit 23: Human Computer Interaction:

Unit 28: Website Production:

Entry requirements

The BTEC Certificate in IT (1 GCE AS) consists of two compulsory units and one optional unit; The Subsidiary Diploma in IT (1 A Level) consists of two compulsory units and four optional units; The Diploma in IT (2 A -Levels) consists of three compulsory units and 9 optional units. All units are internally assessed and all units must be passed in order to achieve the Award.
entrance requirements for this course are: BTEC First Certificate for ICT Practitioners – Merit Grade, plus GCSE C Grade in Maths & English GCSE ICT– C grade, plus C Grade in English & Maths

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Windsor Boys' School directly.

Last updated date: 15 August 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years