Accessibility links

BTEC Health and Social Care Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma at Harris Academy Upper Norwood

Course description

Year 12 ContentIn Year 12, depending on the qualification you are taking, you will be required to complete a total of three units (for the Subsidiary Diploma), six units (for the Diploma) or nine units (for the Extended Diploma). These units will include the Mandatory Units that you will be required to complete for the successful completion of the course.Units include:Unit 1: Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social CareUnit 2: Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social CareUnit 3: Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social CareYear 13 ContentIn Year 13, you will move on to more specialist units that will deepen your knowledge of the key values that underpin the Health and Social Care industry. You will also be required to work independently but with sufficient guidance on the Unit 6 which is Personal and Professional Development in Health and Social Care where you would have to showcase your learning and skills that you have acquired over the two years of study.Units include:Unit 10: Caring for Children and Young PeopleUnit 11: Safeguarding Adults and Promoting IndependenceUnit 20: Promoting Health EducationUnit 43: Technological Services in Health and Education

Entry requirements

Subject specific entry requirements may apply but as a minimum you should provide 4 GCSEs grades A* - C. Please see our website for full admissions criteria. Students require a grade C or above in English GCSE. Additionally students should have a Merit grade in Level 2 Health and Social Care, Childcare and Development, or a related course of study, or a grade C in a related GCSE.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Harris Academy Upper Norwood directly.

Last updated date: 20 May 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Years