Accessibility links

OCR Science Level 2 Cambridge Technical Diploma at Leyton Sixth Form College

Course description

This course is made up of six units divided into Biology and Chemistry with some Physics and Geology. The Diploma is equivalent to three GCSEs.

Course content

The units covered are:

Unit 1 – Science of the Earth
Unit 7 – Food Production
Unit 8 – Science of Health
Unit 10 – Chemistry of Production
Unit 12 – Chemical Design
Unit 13 – Radiology

Entry requirements

D/4 – English Language, D/4 – Maths, D – Science. However some flexibility is possible.



Exam Board - OCR

Each of the six units is assessed internally through research assignments or practical investigations. The units are graded as pass, merit or distinction.

An overall pass grade is equivalent to three C grades (CCC) while an overall Distinction grade is equivalent to A*A*A*.


Future opportunities

If you achieve an overall merit grade you can progress to the BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science course which is equivalent to three A levels.

If you achieve an overall distinction grade and have GCSE in Mathematics and English Language you might be able to progress to AS/A Levels in separate sciences.

Further information

What are the enrichment opportunities as part of this subject?

Disneyland Paris Lectures.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Leyton Sixth Form College directly.

Last updated date: 10 January 2017
Provider logo

Key information


  • More information
    • Working within a safe, welcoming and stimulating environment, which embraces diversity and promotes respect, we help students fulfil their academic potential and become thinking, questioning and caring members of society.