Accessibility links

IT Cambridge technical Level 3 at Chadwell Heath Academy

Course description

Students will learn how organisations evaluate risks with data and analyse statistical information to determine whether they could accidentally damage business potential or identify opportunities to increase business potential.

Course content

Modules for the single award (Introductory Diploma in IT)
Unit 1: Fundamentals of IT - A sound understanding of IT technologies and practices is essential for IT professionals. Information learnt in this unit will provide a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how business uses IT. Knowledge gained in the study of this unit will also help prepare you for relevant industry qualifications such as CompTIA A+, CompTIA Mobility+ and Cisco IT Essentials.

Unit 2: Global information - Demonstrates the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the Internet, by individuals and organisations. You will discover that good management of both data and information is essential and that it can give any organisation a competitive edge. This unit will provide you with a greater understanding of how organisations use information sources both internally and externally and the types of information you will encounter. Knowledge gained in the study of this unit will also help prepare you for relevant industry qualifications such as VM Ware.

Unit 17: Internet of Everything - The use of the Internet and how it is impacting people and society. You will learn about the Internet of Everything and how it is used. Using your knowledge you’ll carry out a feasibility study for a potential idea. You will pitch your idea to potential stakeholders and use their feedback to revise you proposal. Knowledge gained will also help prepare you for relevant industry qualifications such as Cisco IoE.

Modules for the double award (equivalent to TWO A level qualifications) (the above units and units 3, 5 and 6)

Unit 3: Cyber Security - This unit is designed to enable you to gain knowledge and understanding of the range of threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on both individuals and organisations

Unit 8: Project Management -The key to any project being a success is the planning and management that takes place. Project management skills are essential transferable skills that can be used for all projects whether it’s traditional methodologies or more recently adopted agile approaches within the IT development environment.

Unit 6: Product Development—You will learn about different product design methodologies and the role of the product development life cycle. In addition, you will discover the factors that influence product developments.


Single Award:
3 x Portfolio Assessments
2 x Examination

Double Award:
5 x Portfolio Assessments
1 x On-Line Examination

Future opportunities

In addition to qualification for UCAS points, the Cambridge Technical Level 3 qualification gives students a wide choice of progression options into further study, training, or relevant employment.

Students who successfully complete the qualification will be well equipped to move onto degrees and BTEC Higher National Diplomas in related subjects such as: ICT, Computer Science, Information Systems, Multimedia, Software Engineering, Computer Networking, e-Business and Information Management.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Chadwell Heath Academy directly.

Last updated date: 21 April 2017
Provider logo

Key information