Accessibility links

Religious Studies - GCSE at Challenge College

Course description

The specification reflects the fact that the religious traditions of Great Britain are in the main Christian, while taking into account other principal religions represented in Great Britain, thus meeting the requirements of the Education Act (1996), section 375(3) and, where appropriate, section 28(1) of the Education Act (1944).
The emphasis of this specification on religious and moral issues is designed to be consistent with the non-statutory National Framework for Religious Education for Key Stage 4 and to build on the Key Stage 3 requirements of the Framework. It is also designed to be consistent with the requirements of many locally agreed syllabuses for Religious Education, and to stimulate the interest of students for whom Religious Studies is compulsory.
The specification is distinctive in that students may study a full issues-based course by combining Units 1 and 8. It also allows students to study either only Christianity (Unit 2 and either 9 or 16), Catholic Christianity (Unit 3 and either 10 or 16), Islam (Units 4 and 11), Judaism (Units 5 and 12), Hinduism (Units 6 and 13), or Sikhism (Units 7 and 14). However, any combination of two units from separate modules is permitted for a full course, or any single unit for a short course, to give centres the opportunity to build on studies at Key Stage 3 or to meet the provisions of their locally agreed syllabus. The two Catholic Christianity units (3 and 10) fulfil the content requirements of the Curriculum Directory of the Bishops of England and Wales (1996), but students will be expected to be aware of the broader Christian tradition.
This specification provides a coherent short or full course balanced in terms of breadth and depth, and offers all students, of any religious persuasion or none, the opportunity to demonstrate their attainment irrespective of their gender or ethnic, religious or social background.

Course content

The full course consists of two units which must be taken from different modules.

Module A: Religion and Life
Unit 1: Religion and life based on a study of Christianity and at least one other religion
Unit 2: Religion and life based on a study of Christianity
Unit 3: Religion and life based on a study of Catholic Christianity
Unit 4: Religion and life based on a study of Islam
Unit 5: Religion and life based on a study of Judaism
Unit 6: Religion and life based on a study of Hinduism
Unit 7: Religion and life based on a study of Sikhism

Module B: Religion and Society
Unit 8: Religion and society based on a study of Christianity and at least one other religion

Module C: Faith in Practice
Unit 9: Christianity
Unit 10: Catholic Christianity
Unit 11: Islam
Unit 12: Judaism
Unit 13: Hinduism
Unit 14: Sikhism
Unit 15: Buddhism

Module D: Mark's Gospel
Unit 16: Mark's Gospel

Entry requirements

No entry requirements


Written Examination

Future opportunities

This specification provides a foundation for further study at Levels 2 and 3 in the National Qualifications Framework, including AS and Advanced GCE in Religious Studies and in other humanities subjects such as General Studies, History, Geography and English.

The course provides students with the opportunity to develop skills in evaluation and in considering issues from a range of perspectives. These skills are highly valued by a range of professions, such as public services and the caring professions.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Challenge College directly.

Last updated date: 21 October 2014
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Years