Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate at The Priory School

Course description

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction to this sector. It is for students who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector. It is equivalent in size to one A Level. This qualification combines elements of sociology, biology, nutrition, law, and ethics and allows students to gain a broad knowledge of the industry. The qualification supports access to a range of higher education courses possibly, but not exclusively, in health and social care, if taken alongside further Level 3 qualifications.

Course content

Students must complete 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and there are 2 external assessments.

  • Mandatory content (83%)
  • External assessment (58%)

The mandatory unit content incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector:

  • Unit 1 - Human Lifespan Development
  • Unit 2 - Working in Health and Social Care
  • Unit 3 - Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

Optional units include:

  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Psychological Perspectives

Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs

  • Physiological Disorders and their Care.


There are three main forms of assessment used in this qualification; they are external, internal and synoptic.

Externally-assessed units 

The styles of external assessment used for this qualification are:

  • Examinations – all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
  • Set tasks – learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task.

Examples of External Assessments for this course:

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development

  • Written exam
  • 1.5 hours
  • 90 marks

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care

  • Written exam
  • 1.5 hours
  • 80 marks

Internally-assessed units 

Most units in the sector are internally assessed. Students may be given one or more of the following:

  • write up the findings of their own research
  • use case studies to explore complex or unfamiliar situations
  • carry out projects for which they have choice over the direction and outcomes
  • demonstrate practical and technical skills using appropriate work-based values and practices.

Synoptic assessment

Synoptic assessment requires students to demonstrate that they can identify and use effectively, in an integrated way, an appropriate selection of skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge from across the whole sector as relevant to a key task. Synoptic units may be internally or externally assessed.

Future opportunities

The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education institutions as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses. The course can be used in conjunction with other A levels to lead to courses such as a BSc (Hons) in Nursing, BA (Hons) in Primary Education, BSc (Hons) in Social Work, Foundation Degree in Sports Studies and Development.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Priory School directly.

Last updated date: 21 March 2017
Provider logo

Key information