Accessibility links

LEVEL 2 ICT at Peter Symonds College

Course description

The Cambridge Technical qualification is a one-year vocational course which is specifically designed for post 16 students which helps you to develop skills demanded by employers in the UK. It is the equivalent of 2 GCSE’s at grades A* - C.

Completion of the course will enable you to enter employment or to progress on to a level 3 course.

The course consists of a number of units completed over a year. These may include:

  1. Communicating in the IT industry (5 credits, mandatory)
    This unit identifies the IT tools available for safe and secure communications within a workplace where a variety of communication channels are used.
  2. Working in the IT industry (5 credits, mandatory)
    The IT industry is evolving and changing as new technologies are introduced; this unit will give students an insight into the skills and qualifications needed in the modern IT industry.
  3. Interactive media production (10 credits)
    The media industry is one of the fastest-growing industries, interactive TV and mobile apps; this unit focuses on creating a multimedia application for a mobile device.
  4. Computer Systems (10 credits)
    The fundamentals of modern computer systems, theory of operation and elementary programming skills.

Entry requirements

At least two D grades at GCSE, normally including Maths and English.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Peter Symonds College directly.

Last updated date: 20 May 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1 year