Accessibility links

Religious Studies at Waverley School and Sixth form Centre - a Specialist Humanities College

Course description

Religious Studies helps students develop their interest in, and enthusiasm for, a rigorous study of Religion and its relation to the wider world. This four-unit specification encourages students to reflect on and develop their own values, opinions and attitudes in the light of their learning. Students will have an opportunity to study aspects of one or more religions, including textual, theological, historical, ethical, phenomenological and philosophical perspectives.

Course content

What will I Iearn?

Year One
AS Religious Studies
You will take two exam papers  
Exam one - UNIT K:  Islam
1. Quran  
2. Five pillars
3. Doctrine of God
4. Key beliefs  

Exam two - UNIT L: Life of the Prophet
1. Jahilliyah
2. Mecca 610-622ce
3. Death of Prophet
4. Sunni Shi’a divide

Year Two
A2 Religious Studies
You will take two exam pape
Exam one - 3H: World Religi
1. The shari’a
2. Shia Islam
3. God and Humanity
4. Women and Family Life

Exam two - Unit 4A:
Life, Death and Beyond

Entry requirements

5 GCSEs at Grade A* - C, including a grade B or above in Religious Studies and English.

Future opportunities

The skills that you will learn in Religious
Studies will be useful to you in any number
of careers including teaching, youth work,
journalism, civil service and government.  
If you are thinking of a career in Law or
Medicine then a Religious Studies A level
is looked upon favorably for undergraduate
courses too.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 16 November 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: two years