Accessibility links

ICT - BTEC Nationals at Broughton Hall High School

Course description

The focus on the course will be problem solving and work related tasks designed to help you in the world of work. ICT exists in all strands of the world of the work, so this course is a good opportunity to develop your skills of problem solving and application. There are three units for the Certificate and six units for the Subsidiary Diploma.

Course content

Mandatory Units
Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for ICT
Unit 2: Computer Systems

Optional Units
A wide variety of units (twenty three optional units in total). All units are coursework assessed and of equal weighting.

Entry requirements

Students must possess the Cambridge Nationals Certificate Level 2 in ICT, with a minimum grade of a Pass at L2 (Grade C equivalent). Students must also possess a minimum of Grade C in English Language.

Future opportunities

The BTEC in ICT course qualifies for UCAS points, so if you complete it successfully, you could move on to study for a degree or higher diploma in related subjects, such as ICT, Computer Science, Information Systems, Multimedia, Software Engineering, Computer Networking, e-Business and Information Management. You could also go on to work in based training, such as IT user / Practitioner NVQ or vendor specific qualifications.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Broughton Hall High School directly.

Last updated date: 05 September 2016

Key information