Accessibility links

Health & Social Care Btec Level 3 Extended Certificate at The Sixth Form at Cornwallis Academy

Course description

BTECs are vocationally related qualifications, where learners develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context. Additionally, they are popular and effective because they engage learners to take responsibility for their own learning and to develop skills that are essential for the modern-day workplace and University. These skills include: team working; working from a prescribed brief; working to deadlines; presenting information effectively; researching and referencing.


Course content

What is Health and Social care? During the course you will study human lifespan and the relevant development areas associated within each lifespan stage. Have you ever wondered how your brain works and what intellectual development really is? This course will help you explore the questions you have about why people behave the way they do. Are we born evil or are we nurtured to be evil? Health and Social care has a mixture of sociology and psychology contained within its core. You will also learn about working in the Health and Social care sector, looking at safeguarding, discrimination, development, health promotion and communication skills. There are a number of careers you can enter with Health and Social care, these include: Childcare, Nursing , Midwifery, Social worker, Probation service, Sport Physiotherapists, Police and Teaching to name a few. BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social care  This qualification provides much of the underpinning knowledge and understanding for the National Occupational Standards for the sector. They are supported by the Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) and/or Standards Setting Bodies (SSBs). For those students wishing to progress to higher education this course attracts UCAS points and is work related it is also recognised by any Health or social care vocation. You will develop your knowledge on the human lifespan and meeting individual needs. The course consists of 2 examinable units and 2 course work units completed in 2 years.

Entry requirements

4 x GCSEs Grade 4 or above including English


The course consists of 2 examinable units and 2 course work units completed in 2 years. This is a 2 year course and no qualification can be gained after the first year The course is again graded as Pass ,Merit, Distinction and Distinction*


Further information

Mrs Glover - Head of Department:

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 06 November 2018
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years

Contact details