Accessibility links

BTEC Level 2 First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development at Ken Stimpson Community School

Course description

The BTEC Firsts in Children’s Care, Learning and Development are related to the National Occupational Standards in Children’s Care, Learning and Development and provide underpinning knowledge for these standards. The BTEC First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development is available to learners aged 16 and over. In order to fulfil the requirements of the Diploma, learners need to complete a total of at least 300 work placement hours. These work placement hours will enable learners to gain more experience and insight into the sector, and therefore learners who successfully complete the course should be able to progress to employment in the sector, in a supervised role. These qualifications contribute to the quality and coherence of national provision in this sector. They provide an alternative route to the academic and vocational GCSE provision, offering learners the opportunity to experience the children’s care, learning and development sector. The qualifications will assist in the development of a range of generic and transferable skills, and potentially inform career or further education decisions.

Course content

The Edexcel Level 2 BTEC First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development consists of five core units plus one specialist unit that provide for a combined total of 360 guided learning hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Core Units

1. Understanding Children’s Development

2. Keeping Children Safe

3. Communication with Children and Adults

4. Preparing and Maintaining Environments for Child Care

5. Professional Development, Roles and Responsibilities in Child Care

Specialist units (choice of one)

• Supporting Children’s Play and Learning

• The Development and Care of Babies and Young Children Under Three Years

• Providing Support for Children with Disabilities or Special Educational Needs

Entry requirements

A minimum of 3 Grade D and 3 Grade E graded GCSEs


All units are internally assessed by coursework portfolios. Internal assessment allows you to develop a wider range of skills and provide evidence towards meeting the unit assessment criteria. The qualification is graded at Pass, Merit or Distinction.

Future opportunities

Progression could also be to further study, such as the BTEC Nationals in Early Years/Children’s Care, Learning and Development or the Edexcel Level 2 or 3 NVQs in Children’s Care, Learning and Development.

Further information

Level: Level 2 Duration: 1 year Qualification: Pearson BTEC Level 2 First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development (Technical Certificate) Entry Requirements: A minimum of 3 Grade D and 3 Grade E graded GCSEs

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Ken Stimpson Community School directly.

Last updated date: 27 November 2015
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1-2 Years

Contact details

    • Contact name:
    • Sixth Form Administrator
    • Contact telephone number:
    • 01733765950
    • Email address:


  • More information
    • Ken Stimpson Community School is a single site school which is endowed with superb facilities, some of which are shared with Werrington District Library and Werrington Sports & Recreation Centre. The school has access to sports facilities, multiple computer suites, drama studios, music classrooms and practice spaces, dance theatres and performance areas all of which would be less likely to be found in a more traditional school. In addition to our well equipped and resourced teaching blocks we also have a two-court, floodlit astroturf area and extensive playing fields.