Accessibility links

English Literature A Level at The National CofE Academy

Course description

Year 12

English Literature


  •   Unit 1: aspects of narrative. Study of two novels   and poetry from two writers. Assessed by exam
  •   Unit 2: dramatic genres: comedy.  Study of   two plays (one must be Shakespearian).    Assessed by coursework

Year 13 

  •  Unit 3: texts and genres: pastoral texts. Study of two novels and poetry from various poets. Assessed by exam
  • Unit 4: further and independent reading. Pupils read and analyse texts of their own choosing. Assessed by coursework.


Exams and coursework.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The National CofE Academy directly.

Last updated date: 21 July 2015

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1 - 2 Years