Accessibility links

Health & Social BTEC Level 3 Diploma at Smestow School

Course description

The BTEC Nationals in Health and Social Care provide much of the underpinning knowledge for the National Occupational Standards in Health and Social Care/Health and consequently act as a robust introduction to both sectors. They prepare learners for employment in the sectors or for higher education. They are also mapped to the NHS Knowledge and Skills Framework, which was developed as part of the Agenda for Change process for updating the way NHS staff roles are defined and developed. Learners will benefit from gaining a number of mandatory units as well as a wide range of optional and specialist optional units according to the route embarked on. They will also benefit from gaining work experience in the sectors. These opportunities will aid career choices and potentially attract learners into the sectors. The 120-credit BTEC Level 3 Diploma extends the specialist work-related focus of the BTEC Level 3 Certificate and covers the key knowledge and practical skills required in the appropriate vocational sector. The BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma offers greater flexibility and a choice of emphasis through the optional units. It is broadly equivalent to Two GCE A Level. The BTEC Level 3 Diploma offers an engaging programme for those who are clear about the area of employment that they wish to enter.

Course content

Year 1 Unit 1- Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social Care 10 3 Unit 2- Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care 10 3 Unit 3- Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care Unit 5 – Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care Unit 7 – Sociological Perspectives in Health and Social Care Unit 8 – Physiological Perspectives in Health and social Care Year 2 Unit 4 -Development Through the Life Stages Unit 10 – Caring for Children and Young People Unit 21 - Nutrition for Health and Social Care Unit 6 – Professional Practice Unit 22 –Research Methods in Health and social Care Unit 26 – Caring for additional Needs

Entry requirements

It is desirable but not essential that you have taken a related course previously. Due to the coursework nature of this course, it is required that you have at least 5 GCSEs or equivalent at grade C or higher, including English.


In BTEC Nationals all units are internally assessed. All assessment for BTEC Nationals is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes. Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading criteria which are to be used for grading purposes. A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit or distinction: To achieve a ‘pass’ a learner must have satisfied all the pass assessment criteria. To achieve a ‘merit’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the merit grading criteria. To achieve a ‘distinction’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the distinction grading criteria. Learners who complete the unit but who do not meet all the pass criteria are graded ‘unclassified’.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Smestow School directly.

Last updated date: 11 June 2015
Provider logo

Key information