Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC Level 3 at Birchwood High School

Course description

The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC National Diploma in Health and Social Care consists of six mandatory units, plus a selection of at least two additional optional units to be completed over the two years.

The mandatory units are
Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development
Unit 2 Working in Health and Social Care
Unit 4 Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care
Unit 5 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
Unit 7 Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care
Unit 8 Promoting Public Health

Course content

Selected mandatory and all optional units.
Programme team creates assignment brief and students carry out set tasks, creating evidence to support a work-related scenario.

Unit 4:
Enquiries into current research in Health and Social Care
How long: 3 hours supervised time over the course of a week; pre-release material available 6 weeks in advance.
Creating the task: Learners use pre-release material and their own research to produce a Research Commentary.

Written Exam
Unit 1:
Human Lifespan Development
How long: 90 minutes
Taking the exam: unseen - taken in exam conditions.

Unit 2:
Working in Health & Social Care
How long: 90 minutes.
Taking the exam: unseen – taken in exam conditions.


Units 1 and 2 are written exams set and marked externally.
Unit 4 is a task that is also externally set and marked.
Units 5, 7, 8 and the two optional units are all internally assessed.
This Diploma is equivalent to 2 A Levels.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Birchwood High School directly.

Last updated date: 03 May 2018
Provider logo

Key information